Pin It

Pueblo Tribes Of New Mexico

There are 19 Pueblo Tribes, independent nations, that live in New Mexico. Many claim to be direct descendants of the Ancestral Puebloans who moved out of the Mesa Verde/Southern Colorado region in the 1200’s, and many still live on lands today that they have inhabited since the 1200-1300s.

Attractions & Cultural Centers

Chaco Culture National Historic Park, New Mexico - this was once the center of Ancestral Puebloan culture, and is now an International Dark Sky Park, UNESCO World Heritage Site, and a fantastic place to learn about the rich, ancient culture and ancestors of the modern Pueblo Peoples.

Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, Albuquerque, New Mexico - features rotating exhibits of historical and contemporary art, pottery, baskets, weaving, jewelry, photographs, as well as a library, and live dancing.

Sky City Cultural Center and Haak'u Museum, New Mexico – offers exhibits, information and guided tours of historic “Sky City,” where visitors can tour the ancient city and meet modern artisans.


The 19 different Pueblos are located throughout north-central New Mexico, scattered along the Rio Grande River, with the exception of the Zuni Nation, which sits alongside the Arizona and Navajo National border.

History & Culture

Some traditions in Pueblo culture include Feast Days, in which Pueblo communities gather to celebrate the Pueblo’s patron saint, traditional dances, which help connect them to their ancestors and culture, and spirituality through traditional songs and prayer. Traditional values include love, respect, spirituality, balance, peace, and empathy.

Historically, three crops have held importance to the Pueblo peoples. The Three Sisters, as they call them, are corn, beans, and squash. Each provided optimal growing conditions for the other two plants, and provided nutrition in the harsh, dry desert climate.

The Pueblo peoples’ history is complex, like many Natives, who dealt with European settlers. The 1600s brought colonization and Catholic missionaries who converted many and build missions at the pueblos. In 1680, the Pueblo people led the Pueblo Revolt, the first successful fight that drove the Spanish away for about a decade. Even when the Spanish did return years later, they never regained the same sort of control over the Pueblo people that they had before.

Today, the Pueblos are all federally recognized independent nations, many who own the land that their people have cultivated since the 1200s, though a significantly smaller area of land.

They are:

Acoma; Traditional name: “Haak’u”

Cochiti; Traditional name: “KO-TYIT”

Isleta; Traditional name: “Tue-l”

Jemez; Traditional name: “Walatowa”

Laguna; Traditional name: “Ka’waika”

Nambe; Traditional name: “Name O-Ween-Ge”

Ohkay Owingeh; Traditional name the same

Picuris; Traditional name: “Pe’ewi”

Pojoaque; Traditional name: “PO-SUWAE-GEH”

Sandia; Traditional name: “NA-FIAT”

San Felipe; Traditional name: “Katishtya”

San Ildefonso; Traditional name: “Po-woh-ge-oweenge”

Santa Ana; Traditional name: “TAMAYA”

Santa Clara; Traditional Name: “Kha’p’oo Owinge”

Santo Domingo; Traditional name: “Kewa”

Taos; Traditional name: “Tuah-Tah”

Tesuque; Traditional name: “TET-SUGEH”

Zia; Traditional name: “Tsi-ya”

Zuni; Traditional name: “SHE-WE-NA”


Indian Pueblo Culture Center. 19 Pueblos.

Chaco Culture Historic Park.

Chaco Culture.

Puebloan peoples.